Altaf Qadri/Associated Press

Sunrisers Hyderabad (191/1) beat Delhi Daredevils (187/5) by nine wickets in the Indian Premier League on Thursday, despite the latter’s Rishabh Pant scoring an unbeaten 128.

Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson knocked a remarkable 92 and 83, respectively, as the visitors comfortably chased down their target in the 19th over at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in Delhi.

Here are the standings after the match:


2018 IPL Standings (Points, Net Run Rate)

1. Sunrisers Hyderabad: 18, +0.473

2. Chennai Super Kings: 14, +0.421

3. Kings XI Punjab: 12, +0.097

4. Mumbai Indians: 10, +0.529

5. Kolkata Knight Riders: 10, -0.359

6. Rajasthan Royals: 8, -0.552

7. Royal Challengers Bangalore: 6, -0.361

8. Delhi Daredevils: 6, -0.447

Visit the official IPL T20 website to see the standings in full.


The hosts were limited early on by a strong start from Sunrisers’ bowlers, and Prithvi Shaw, Jason Roy and Shreyas Iyer fell for a combined total of just 23 runs.

Pant’s entrance into the contest transformed the Daredevils’ prospects, as he racked up 15 fours and seven sixes in 63 balls.

Kings XI Punjab’s Aaron Finch and former IPL star Mohammad Kaif were in awe:

Harshal Patel and Glenn Maxwell added a further 24 and nine runs, respectively, to help Delhi set their total.

Alex Hales managed to grab 14 runs before he was dismissed in the second over of Hyderabad’s innings, but it was all down to Dhawan and Williamson’s sensational partnership.

The pair were patient in their approach, per cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle:

Nevertheless, they still managed to rack up 23 boundaries between them as they secured their place in the play-offs.

The Daredevils remain bottom of the table, with just three wins from 11 matches.

Source link