Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Gujarat Lions by 21 runs in a high-scoring affair in the 2017 Indian Premier League on Tuesday, as Chris Gayle became the first batsman to score more than 10,000 runs in T20 history.

The Lions faced an uphill battle after conceding 213 runs for just two wickets, with Gayle smashing 77 runs off only 38 balls.

However, Gujarat played with aggression and purpose, taking the match to the final deliveries, with Brendon McCullum scoring 72 runs as RCB took the pace off the ball.

The Lions replace RCB as the competition’s bottom side, as captain Virat Kohli’s bowling tactics prevailed in the second innings.

Here’s a look at the top run-scorers after Tuesday’s match:

IPL 2017: Highest Run-Scorers—Orange Cap
1 David Warner SRH 5 5 235 137.42
2 Brendon McCullum GL 5 5 225 146.10
3 Manish Pandey KKR 4 4 221 150.34
4 Guatam Gambhir KKR 5 5 196 142.02
5 Nitish Rana MI 5 5 193 133.10
6 Steve Smith RPS 4 4 180 135.33
7 Manan Vohra KXIP 5 5 174 165.71
8 Sanju Sansom DD 4 4 173 146.61

Here are the top wicket-takers:

IPL 2017: Top Wicket-Takers—Purple Cap
1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar SRH 5 20 108 15
2 Chris Morris DD 4 14 93 8
3 Imran Tahir RPS 5 20 161 8
4 Andrew Tye RPS 3 12 85 7
5 Yuzvendra Chahal RCB 6 19.3 143 7

West Indies legend Gayle became the first man to break the 10,000-run mark in T20, leading RCB to victory in a barnstorming affair.

Gayle hit five fours and seven sixes, partnering Kohli to a mammoth score for the Royal Challengers.

ESPNcricinfo hailed the living legend:

Gayle was given the man-of-the-match award at the end of the contest, entertaining the crowd with direct and determined cricket.

The victory was only RCB’s second of the campaign, with AB de Villiers missing through injury.

David Warner leads the chase for the orange cap at the top of the standings, hitting a total of 235 for Sunrisers Hyderabad across the competition.

McCullum is hot on his heels, just 10 runs behind the dynamic Australian after his knock for the Lions on Tuesday.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has claimed the most wickets in the IPL this term, taking 15 scalps to lead the standings for the the purple cap.

Source link